National Center for Minimally Invasive Surgery

About the National Center for Minimally Invasive Surgery

The National Center for Minimally Invasive Surgery is the national reference center for endoscopic therapy and minimally invasive surgery. It is the Postgraduate Education Center of the University of Medical Sciences dedicated to the education, training and certification of national and foreign specialists in the mastery of minimally invasive surgical techniques, both basic and advanced. It is also a Technological Science and Innovation Unit in charge of the planning and development of research projects and/or control studies for the assessment of technologies and patents in the field of endoscopic surgery.

The MIS center of Havana was certified at national level by the Health Accreditation National Board (Junta Nacional de Acreditación en Salud, JUNAS) in the year 2017 and is working to achieve the certification of quality management system based on the regulation NC- ISO 9001: 2015.


Centro de Cirugía Endoscópica, Hospital Calixto García

In 1993, Julián Ruiz Torres, MD, created a multidisciplinary group at Calixto García Hospital which included gastroenterologists, surgeons, anesthetists, radiologists and nurses with the vision and purpose of offering patients a center with the best technology, that would comprehensively deal with endoscopic surgery, endoscopic therapy and high quality interventional radiology. This group developed and, in 1994, gave rise to what today is the National Reference Center for Minimally Invasive Surgery and endoscopic therapies.
Nowadays, the National Center for Minimally Invasive Surgery has a team of health professionals that provides patients with a service where state-of-the-art technology and highly qualified professionals converge to offer the best quality care in these procedures.


To act as the National Reference Center that leads the medical care, education and research activities in minimally invasive surgery practice by introducing state-of-the-art technologies, offering courses, trainings, fellowships and master´s degrees for the development and post-graduate education of professionals and technicians in this field, as well as carrying out research work concerning the health problems that affect our country.

Quality Policy

Both the National Center for Minimally Invasive Surgery management and workers guarantee the quality and safety of minimally invasive surgery patients, as well as the quality and relevance of post graduate training and the scientific and technical services provided with the purpose of: Improving the satisfaction of the patients and their relatives, as well as of the Center workers, their students and collaborators; complying with the existing laws and regulations in the health area for medical care and educational services; maintaining the management quality system by complying with regulation NC-ISO 9001:2015 standards; and continuously improving the Center´s performance in the search of excellence.


Julián F. Ruiz Torres, Director CNCMA
Dr.C. Julián F. Ruiz Torres
Manager head
Rafel Torres Peña, Vice-Director Asistencia Médica CNCMA
Dr.C. Rafel Torres Peña
Assistant manager
Rosalba Roque González, Vice-Directora Docente e Investigaciones CNAM
Dr.C. Rosalba Roque González
Assistant manager
Andrey Fernández Ramírez, Vice-Director Administrativo CNCMA
Dr. Andrey Fernández Ramírez
Assistant manager


Gastroenterology Service

Julián Francisco Ruiz Torres, MD. PhD.

Vivianne Anido Escobar, MD. PhD.

Jorge L. García Menocal, MD.

Felipe Neri Piñol Jiménez, MD. PhD.

Norberto Alfonso Contino, MD.

Mildred Cecilia Armenteros, MD.

Urology Service

Tania González León, PhD MD.

Maikel Quintana Rodríguez, MD.

Michel Hernández Campoalegre, MD.

General Surgery Service

Javier E. Barreras González, MD. PhD.

Miguel Angel Martínez Alfonso, MD. PhD.

Rafael Torres Peña, MD. PhD.

Jorge Pereira Fraga, MD.

Rosalba Roque González, MD. PhD.

Israel Diaz Ortega, MD. PhD.

Hiran de Zacarias Rodriguez Blanco, MD.

Raul Jimenez Ramos, MD.

Sigifredo de la Caridad Montero Ferrer, MD. PhD.

Antoni Alvares Morales, MD.

Anesthesia Service

Olivé González, MD.

Ingrid Quintana Pajón, MD.

Ena C. Sánchez Hernández, MD.

Nitza Maza Bravo, MD.

Samira Becil Poyato, MD.

José Ramón Rodríguez Pérez, MD.

Marianela Hernández Azcuy, MD.

Iriannis Galano Labañino, MD.

Servicio de Cirugía Reconstructiva

Alina Rosales Aguirreurreta, MD.

Intensive Care Unit

Lilian Valdivia García, MD.

Raimundo Otero Hernández, MD.

Amaury Chang Cruz, MD.

Daymara del Rio Bazan, MD.

Beatriz Felipe Rodríguez, MD.

Lázaro Suárez Núñez, MD.

Osvaldo Cañedo Hernández, MD.

Neurosurgery Service

Luis Alonso Fernández, MD. PhD.

Tania Leyva Mastrapa, MD. PhD.

Otolaryngology Service

Adolfo Hidalgo González, MD.

Yainet Lias Rodríguez, MD.

Oreste González Torres, MD.

Radiology service

Andria de la Cruz de Oña, MD.

Romel Sarmiento Duconger, MD.

Yandys Salas de la Cruz, MD.

Jennifer Ponte Echevarría, MD.

Julieth Suárez Oceguera, Graduate. PhD

Pathological Anatomy Service

Yanelis Isabel Soto González, MD.

Legna Marqués Méndez, MD